6th International Workshop on Semantic and Conceptual Issues in GIS (SeCoGIS 2012)

Call for Papers

Download the Call for Papers in PDF

Scope of the Workshop

Recent advances in information technologies have increased the production, collection, and diffusion of geographical data, thus favoring the design and development of geographic information systems (GIS). Nowadays GISs are emerging as a common information infrastructure, which penetrate into more and more aspects of our society. This has given rise to new methodological and data engineering challenges in order to accommodate new users' requirements for new applications. Conceptual and semantic modeling are ideal candidates to contribute to the development of the next generation of GIS solutions. They allow to elicitate and capture user requirements as well as the semantics of a wide domain of applications.

SeCoGIS is intended to bring together researchers, developers, users, and practitioners carrying out research and development in geographic information systems. The aim is to stimulate discussions on the integration of conceptual modeling and semantics into current geographic information systems, and how this will benefit the end users. The workshop will provide a forum for original research contributions and practical experiences of conceptual modeling and semantic web technologies for GIS, fostering interdisciplinary discussions in all aspects of these two fields, and will highlight future trends in this area. The workshop will be organized in a way to highly stimulate interaction amongst the participants.

Topics of Interest

We invite submissions that address theoretical, technical, and practical topics of semantic and conceptual issues for GIS. Suggested topics include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Spatio-temporal ontologies
  • Spatio-temporal data modeling
  • Multi-resolution and multi-representation in GIS
  • Spatial services modeling
  • Spatial query languages and interfaces
  • Semantic GIS in environmental and urban contexts
  • Geographical search engines
  • Visualization and personalization of spatial information
  • Spatial data infrastructures, interoperability, and standards
  • Spatial data warehouses
  • Spatial data mining and statistics
  • Spatial decision making
  • Semi-structured geographic data modeling and reasoning
  • Semantic web and GIS

Submission Guidelines

SeCoGIS 2012 proceedings will be published by Springer-Verlag in the LNCS series. Thus, authors must submit manuscripts using the Springer-Verlag LNCS style for Lecture Notes in Computer Science. See the page http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html for style files and details. The page limit for workshop papers is 10 pages. Manuscripts not submitted in the LNCS style or having more than 10 pages will not be reviewed and thus automatically rejected. A paper submitted to SeCoGIS 2012 cannot be under review for any other conference or journal during the time it is being considered for the workshop.

Submission to SeCoGIS 2012 will be electronically only. Authors are asked to submit an abstract first, and then to upload the full paper (in PDF format). The online submission system will be available from March 1st, 2012 at the address https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=secogis12.

Important Dates

Paper abstract submission:April 15, 2012
Full papers:April 22, 2012
Notification:June 1, 2012
Camera-ready paper submission:June 11, 2012
Author registration:June 25, 2012
Workshop:October 15 - 18, 2012

SeCoGIS 2012 Workshop Chairs

Eliseo Clementini, University of L'Aquila, Italy
Esteban Zimányi, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

Program Committee

  • Alia I. Abdelmoty (Cardiff University, UK)
  • Phil Bartie (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Claudia Bauzer Medeiros (University of Campinas, Brazil)
  • Yvan Bédard (Université Laval, Canada)
  • David Bennett (University of Iowa, USA)
  • Michela Bertolotto (University College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Roland Billen (Université de Liège, Belgium)
  • Patrice Boursier (University of La Rochelle, France)
  • Jean Brodeur (National Resources Canada, Canada)
  • Bénédicte Bucher (Institut Géographique National, France)
  • Adrijana Car (German University of Technology, Oman)
  • Christophe Claramunt (Naval Academy Research Institute, France)
  • Matteo Cristani (University of Verona)
  • Maria Luisa Damiani (University of Milano, Italy)
  • Clodoveu Davis (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)
  • Gilles Falquet (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Fernando Ferri (Istituto di Ricerche sulla Popolazione e le Politiche Sociali, Italy)
  • Paolo Fogliaroni (University of Bremen, Germany)
  • Andrew Frank (Technical University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Bo Huang (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China)
  • Marinos Kavouras (National Technical University of Athens, Greece)
  • Sergei Levashkin (National Polytechnic Institute, Mexico)
  • Ki-Joune Li (Pusan National University, South Korea)
  • Thérèse Libourel (Université de Montpellier II, France)
  • Jugurta Lisboa Filho (Universidade Federal de Viçosa, Brazil)
  • Miguel R. Luaces (Universidade da Coruña, Spain)
  • Jose Macedo (Federal University of Ceara, Brazil)
  • Pedro Rafael Muro Medrano (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
  • Peter van Oosterom (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
  • Dimitris Papadias (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)
  • Dieter Pfoser (Institute for the Management of Information Systems, Greece)
  • Ricardo Rodrigues Ciferri (Universidade Federal de São Carlos, Brazil)
  • Andrea Rodriguez Tastets (University of Concepción, Chile)
  • Markus Schneider (University of Florida, USA)
  • Sylvie Servigne-Martin (INSA de Lyon, France)
  • Shashi Shekhar (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Spiros Skiadopoulos (University of Peloponnese, Greece)
  • Emmanuel Stefanakis (Harokopio University of Athens, Greece)
  • Kathleen Stewart Hornsby (University of Iowa, USA)
  • Kerry Taylor (CISRO, Australia)
  • Sabine Timpf (University of Augsburg, Germany)
  • Antonio Miguel Vieira Monteiro (INPE, Brazil)
  • Nancy Wiegand (University of Wisconsin, USA)
  • Stephan Winter (University of Melbourne, Australia)