FIFTH INTERNATIONAL WORKSHOP ON SEMANTIC

AND CONCEPTUAL ISSUES

IN GEOGRAPHIC INFORMATION SYSTEMS (SECOGIS 2011)

SECOND CALL FOR PAPERS

IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE 30TH INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CONCEPTUAL MODELING (ER 2011) BRUXELLES, BELGIUM, OCTOBER 31 – NOVEMBER 3, 2011

SECOND CALL FOR PAPERS

Recent advances in information technologies have increased the production, collection, and diffusion of geographical data, thus favouring the design and development of geographic information systems (GIS). Nowadays GISs are emerging as a common information infrastructure, which penetrate into more and more aspects of our society. This has given rise to new methodological and data engineering challenges in order to accommodate new users' requirements for new applications. Conceptual and semantic modeling are ideal candidates to contribute to the development of the next generation of GIS solutions. They allow to elicitate and capture user requirements as well as the semantics of a wide domain of applications.

SeCoGIS is intended to bring together researchers, developers, users, and practitioners carrying out research and development in geographic information systems. The aim is to stimulate discussions on the integration of conceptual modeling and semantics into current geographic information systems, and how this will benefit the end users. The workshop will provide a forum for original research contributions and practical experiences of conceptual modeling and semantic web technologies for GIS, fostering interdisciplinary discussions in all aspects of these two fields, and will highlight future trends in this area. The workshop will be organized in a way to highly stimulate interaction amongst the participants.

TOPICS OF INTEREST

We invite submissions that address theoretical, technical, and practical topics of semantic and conceptual issues for GIS. Suggested topics include, but are not limited to the following:

- Spatio-temporal ontologies
- Spatio-temporal data modeling
- Multi-resolution and multi-representation in GIS
- Spatial services modeling
- Spatial query languages and interfaces
- Semantic GIS in environmental and urban contexts
- Geographical search engines
- Visualization and personalization of spatial information

- Spatial data infrastructures, interoperability, and standards
- Spatial data warehouses
- Spatial data mining and statistics
- Spatial decision making
- Semi-structured geographic data modeling and reasoning
- Semantic web and GIS

PAPER SUBMISSION

Formatting Guidelines SeCoGIS 2011 proceedings will be published by Springer-Verlag in the LNCS series. Thus, authors must submit manuscripts using the Springer-Verlag LNCS style for Lecture Notes in Computer Science. See the page http://www.springer.de/comp/Incs/authors.html for style files and details. The page limit for workshop papers in LNCS format is 10 pages.

Submission Guidelines Submission to SeCoGIS 2011 will be electronically only. Authors are asked to submit an abstract first, and then to upload the full paper (in PDF format). The online submission system is available at the address https://www.easychair.org/account/signin.cgi?conf=secogis11.

IMPORTANT DATES

Paper abstract submission:	April 8, 2011
Full papers:	April 25, 2011
Notification:	June 13, 2011
Camera-ready paper submission:	July 5, 2011
Author registration:	July 20, 2011
Workshop:	October 31 - November 3, 2011

SECOGIS 2011 WORKSHOP CHAIRS

Roland Billen Université de Liège, Belgium Email: rbillen@ulg.ac.be Esteban Zimányi Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium Email: ezimanyi@ulb.ac.be

SeCoGIS Steering Committee

Michela Bertolotto University College Dublin, Ireland Email: michela.bertolotto@ucd.ie

Jean Brodeur Natural Ressources Canada, Canada Email: brodeur@rncan.gc.ca

Christelle Vangenot Université de Genève, Switzerland Email: christelle.vangenot@unige.ch Roland Billen Université de Liège, Belgium Email: rbillen@ulg.ac.be

Christophe Claramunt Naval Academy Research Institute, France Email: claramunt@ecole-navale.fr

Esteban Zimányi Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium Email: ezimanyi@ulb.ac.be

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Alia I. Abdelmoty (Cardiff University, UK) Gennady Andrienko (Fraunhofer Institute IAIS, Germany) Natalia Andrienko (Fraunhofer Institute IAIS, Germany) Yvan Bédard (Université Laval, Canada) David Bennett (University of Iowa, USA) Michela Bertolotto (University College Dublin, Ireland) Patrice Boursier (University of La Rochelle, France) Jean Brodeur (Natural Resources Canada, Canada) Bénédicte Bucher (Institut Géographique National, France) Christophe Claramunt (Naval Academy Research Institute, France) Eliseo Clementini (University of L'Aquila, Italy) Maria Luisa Damiani (University of Milano, Italy) Clodoveu Davis (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil) Fernando Ferri (Istituto di Ricerche sulla Popolazione e le Politiche Sociali, Italy) Andrew Frank (Technical University of Vienna, Austria) Anders Friis-Christensen (European Commission Joint Research Centre, Italy) Bo Huang (University of Calgary, Canada) Marinos Kavouras (National Technical University of Athens, Greece) Sergei Levashkin (Instituto Politécnico National, Mexico) Ki-Joune Li (Pusan National University, South Korea) Thérèse Libourel (Université de Montpellier II, France) Jugurta Lisboa Filho (Universidade Federal de Viçosa, Brazil) Miguel R. Luaces (Universidade da Coruña, Spain) Jose Macedo (Federal University of Ceara, Brazil) Pedro Rafael Muro Medrano (University of Zaragoza, Spain) Peter van Oosterom (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands) Dimitris Papadias (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong) Dieter Pfoser (Institute for the Management of Information Systems, Greece) Ricardo Rodrigues Ciferri (Universidade Federal de São Carlos, Brazil) Andrea Rodriguez Tastets (University of Concepción, Chile) Markus Schneider (University of Florida, USA) Sylvie Servigne-Martin (INSA de Lyon, France) Shashi Shekhar (University of Minnesota, USA) Emmanuel Stefanakis (Harokopio University of Athens, Greece) Kathleen Stewart Hornsby (University of Iowa, USA) Kerry Taylor (CISRO, Australia) Christelle Vangenot (Université de Genève, Switzerland) Antonio Miguel Vieira Monteiro (INPE, Brazil) Nancy Wiegand (University of Wisconsin, USA) Stephan Winter (University of Melbourne, Australia)